To all new players: expand expand expand!

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by tbos, September 30, 2013.

1. tbos

tbos Member

So I have played about roughly 10 games now and i tend to see a lot of players do the same thing:

turtle in 1 spot (the spawn spot) and try and tech up.

Its better if you expand as fast as you can!

Not expanding will give you 10 times less the mass as your opponent which translates in 10 times less the build capacity thus 10 times less the power to defeat your opponent. You will be defeated within 10 minutes.

So I wanted to give new players a tip on how to begin the game and what you should build the first 5 mins.

Keep in mind im not a pro. But I did play a lot of Supcom.

Start with a power-gen and three mexes. Go for your first factory. make three engineers. With the engineers I start building mexes in all directions. With my ACU I start building some more power and more factories. Try to spot your opponent in the meantime with a couple of bots/ plains.
    in the next 10 mins try and keep your power lvl in the plus. This means to que a lot of power-gens. probably about 20. let 1 or 2 engies take care of that. you will probably have enough mass since you are expanding fast.

And a good thing to note is: overflowing resources is a very bad bad thing! overflowing mass is wasted mass -->> build more factories or whatever! Energy is kind of OK to overflow. It fluctuates faster so having a bit of an overflow is normal.

I dont have a fixed build order yet. I guess a lot of good players/ pro's do. maybe they could fill us in.

If all the new players could expand a bit more and make more factories instead of trying to tech immediatly to t2 games will last longer and be more dynamic and fun. Atleast in my personal and humble oppinion.

Plus I dont defeat you in 10 mins :)

GL HF
    iyenrithe and cherryhest like this.
  2. cwarner7264

cwarner7264 Moderator Alumni

We should call this the "Rule of 10".