Jables thoughts on communication.

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by jables, October 9, 2014.

1. jables

jables Uber Employee

Hey all,

I found some time today to get a quick post on my thoughts on communication. I’m coming into this fairly fresh, in the sense that I’m new to not only the game, but to Uber as a whole. I've been getting my head into everything here over the last two weeks (since I started), and am working out suggestions on some changes we could make in terms of sharing information with you, our community.

First thing I should note is, I'm fully on the Planetary Annihilation team and communicating only for it. You’ll be hearing from @scathis for the Human Resources side of things, as he has his own separate team.

So with that in mind, let’s chat on some thoughts for Planetary Annihilation. Overall, Uber has been working hard on getting a ton of things done for PA. The thing I have seen as most missing (as the new guy coming from the outside) is communicating what is upcoming to all of you. We will be making strides toward being better able to share this information, as well as releasing features in steps (where we can) instead of waiting until every piece is 100% final.

You will see our movement toward this with our release of Offline Server step one. I will also be doing a lot of work with the team to better prioritize our roadmap of upcoming work. My goal, as a start, will be to share information on our upcoming release to a level of detail that you guys feel good with (again see Offline Server part 1). This will be a learning experience for me, as I’m usually focused more on pure development, and not so much community, so I’m not going to be as fancy with wording as some might expect. That being said, my goal is to share the awesome stuff we are working on, and hopefully give you guys the info to be as excited as we are about the future of Planetary Annihilation!
  2. MrTBSC

MrTBSC Post Master General