MNC Modding

Discussion in 'Monday Night Combat PC Discussion' started by elfoxy, June 21, 2017.

1. elfoxy

elfoxy New Member

Hi, I just wanted to ask about potentially modding Monday Night Combat.

If it's alright for me to do that, are there any resources you can provide to help? I am a bit lost figuring out where to start, I have some experience with C++, modelling and animation, and would appreciate anything to guide me. I will be sharing what I learn with other members of the MNC community, and hopefully we can get things going, figure out what's needed first, and then someday develop something interesting.

I've made a page and a group to help other people attempt to do the same, currently there isn't really much to show but I plan on making regular updates and making it easier for people to get started as information is a bit scarce on modding MNC.

I can't post links, but the Steam group is called MNC Modding, there's a link on there to a blog I recently started where I'll try and simplify the steps for other members of the community.

Thanks!
  2. thetrophysystem

thetrophysystem Post Master General

I know a very few things.

-MNC is Unreal, and SMNC at least is Unreal3 2012 package iirc. There is an Unreal 3 Development Kit 2012. This is guestimation, could be wrong about versions.

-The assets were able to be gotten hold of for submitting custom gear to Uber for SMNC toward the end of content development for it. I assume it's not cooked, or if it is, there's some way to unpackage it.

-I remember unpackaging sound files for a ringtone, so those are packaged, and usually "compiled" unrealscript is also packaged but can also be unpackaged. A similar game/engine, that is free and has active development and community development, is RenegadeX. They have a forum and some tools and tips, that should at least apply to SMNC, if not also MNC.