Uber Entertainment does not own the rights to TA?

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by william28, August 19, 2012.

1. william28

william28 New Member

It is difficult for Uber Entertainment to create a true sequel to Total Annihilation if Electronic Arts holds copy rights to it. For example the devs can't have the factions: the CORE and the ARM because EA games would sue Uber Entertainment for everything they own. Ruining our dream of PA. EA greedily hoards all the intellectual poverty of TA and this presents a brick wall to the PA devs.

I am not a lawyer or legal expert. But I hope by opening this topic someone will know how to force EA to give TA copy rights back to its rightful owners. Then we all will ACT.

This topic also serves as a valve to vent our anger towards EA for withholding the intellectual poverty that PA devs CREATED back in the early 90s.
    Last edited: August 19, 2012
  2. burntcustard

burntcustard Post Master General

Re: Demand EA Games to RELEASE the rights of Total Annihilat

I thought Atari owned all the rights to TA? Don't think it matters anyway, Uber won't be using any of the original code, resources, or names from TA. Intact are any of the names of the units protected, I would assume they are not?
  3. thezj

thezj New Member

That's just childish and irrelevant. Names mean nothing. Its not like the story of TA meant anything at all.
  4. eukanuba

eukanuba Well-Known Member

No idea how Electronic Arts got the rights, but they should certainly give them back to Atari immediately as they are the rightful owners. :)

EDIT: Although I have been *slightly* concerned that the amount of nods to TA both in the pitch video and on the forums might be cause for legal action, I have faith that Uber know enough about what they'e doing that this won't be an issue.
  5. goodbean

goodbean Well-Known Member

Not entirely true

They are using the same narrator John Patrick Lowrie, he is a resource from TA.